nia.cover.march.27.png
Winner: 2017 San Diego book award

"All readers should find plenty here to make them smile. A fun, amusing tale about the beautiful torment of young hearts and hormones at play."     

-Kirkus Reviews

"In the spirit of S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders and John Green’s Looking for Alaska, this is a coming-of-age story about a young man who has been given an opportunity and almost loses it by caving in to peer pressure... VERDICT: A quick yet heavy-laden read about race, class, and friendship. Recommended for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Matt de la Peña."

-School Library Journal

 Winner: 2020 San Diego book award

Finalist: 2018 IAN book award

"VERDICT: A fun contemporary adventure for teens clamoring for a road trip gone wrong with a Murder on the Orient Express vibe.”  

-School Library Journal 

"The pace is fast and there’s rarely a dull moment; there’s juicy suspense in every subplot and plenty of close calls..."

-Kirkus Reviews

"In the novel Kurt tells his young friend, 'Nia, CATCHER IN THE RYE is a classic, not because it gives you any clear answers, but because it gives you the truth.' That’s what Carrillo gives readers in this entertaining novel about the exciting and difficult and complicated adventure of being a teenager."
   -Candi Sary, award winning author
"Nia and the Dealer is a beautiful story. Bravo, Dominic Carrillo. Keep stories like this coming, not just for young adults but for all of us.”   
   -ReadersFavorite.com
new TBFD cover.jpg
"To Be Frank Diego is a quick read that offers a nice balance of humor and depth. It’s the kind of book where everything goes wrong and all the comical misadventures keep readers turning the pages to see how it finally gets right. Of course anyone from San Diego would certainly appreciate this book and the way it brings their city to life, but the deeper messages about breaking from one’s routine and seeing life through new eyes should appeal to readers anywhere."

-Underground Book Reviews
Screenshot 2021-05-19 at 19.47.35.png

"Twenty original contributions by Mexican American authors about growing up in the U.S... The opening story, “Ghetto Is Not an Adjective” by Dominic Carrillo, successfully cannonballs into the deep end of the social justice pool... The variety of narrative styles contributes to the broad appeal of this volume. Well worth reading."

-Kirkus Reviews